About Us

Thank you to all of our clients for voting us the Gold Winner for 2020 of the KW Record Readers Choice award.

digital moisture detection

Our Approach

Licensed Home Inspection Inc. is committed to 100% customer satisfaction. We only use certified inspectors that are trained in the Ontario Building Code for our services. With the help of cutting edge technology, like Infrared Thermal Imaging and Digital Moisture Detection, we are able to find moisture defects that are not visible to the naked eye.

Our Story

IICRC Certified for Water and Mould

Licensed Home Inspection Inc. is the only home inspection agency in Ontario that requires all inspectors to be IRCIC Certified for Water and Mould. This is to give our customers peace of mind knowing they will find moisture in their house before it's too late......but more importantly, the source and remedy of the issue.  Hiring an IICRC certified Home Inspector is a great asset when purchasing a home or business.

Meet the Team

Rick Clayton

Rick Clayton RHI, CMI, WRT, AMRT

Founder

Since starting Licensed Home Inspector Inc in 2010 LHI has become one of the leading inspection companies in the region. Rick has preformed over 2500  Home Inspections. On average most inspectors perform 50 to 150 inspections a year, We currently  perform 500 to 700 inspections a year.

 

Carson Dunlop Inspection training, Ontario Building Code Certified 2006, Certified Mould Dog Handler, IICRC Water Restoration and Applied Mould Remediation Certified.

Colin Coughlin

Colin Coughlin CHI, WRT, AMRT

Co-Owner

Since joining Licensed Home Inspection Inc. 2017 Colin has quickly made a name for himself in the industry. Career development education, past construction experience and on the job training has allowed him to excel with cutting edge home inspection technology.

 

Carson Dunlop Inspection training, Ontario Building Code Certified, IICRC Water Restoration and Applied Mould Remediation Certified.

  • Rick was great! He made the process super easy, explained things as the inspection was ongoing, provided sound and reasonable advice on how to remedy some of the issues identified, and was overall very professional. I would highly recommend Rick for a home inspection.

    Justin Doiron Avatar
    Justin Doiron
    7/22/2019

    Our first home in Canada - we were really nervous and had no idea what to expect, what to look for or how anything worked! Rick was amazing, he walked me through every step, explained how everything worked, what was normal (or not) and highlighted things we should be looking out for. He used really neat tools and was very hands on. Highly recommend him.

    Annamarie van Zyl Avatar
    Annamarie van Zyl
    7/30/2019

    Rick is a great inspector, the best we have ever met and used. He is extremely thorough and full of knowledge and explains everything as we went along with him. The final report Rick draws up is very helpful. Definitely recommendable!!

    Julia Maika Avatar
    Julia Maika
    8/30/2019
  • HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

    Rick is an AWESOME home inspector!! I don't have enough words to exactly express his work but for us it was like someone introduced to our own home and in a very efficient, informative way. It's our first home in Canada and we were fairly new to house structures here and he explained EVERYTHING. I felt like we now know every nook and cranny of our house. Very detailed, very professional, careful to acknowledge the client's level of knowledge and explain accordingly. So far whoever we spoke to about our home inspection said, "looks like he was through and covered everything". We are very happy we chose Rick for our home inspection, not to mention the mini course he gave for our hot tub, not because it was part of inspection but because he owns one and knew about it. I know I am missing a lot of things I could write here but it's a review, not a novel :). I would have given 100 stars if I could but there's space for only 5!!

    Harshita Patel Kanani Avatar
    Harshita Patel Kanani
    11/19/2019

    I have had 2 houses inspected by Rick, and both times I was very impressed with the thoroughness of the inspection as well as the well documented report that he sends afterwards. He is accommodating, friendly and knowledgeable. I will be using his service as long as I have a need for it. Thanks Rick!

    Brad Leger Avatar
    Brad Leger
    9/27/2019

    Rick was awesome from the start to finish. Since he was extremely helpful and took his time explaining and answering all of our questions in a polite and professional manner. I will for sure be recommending him to my friends and family! Thank you for an excellent home inspection once again!

    P.s The report was very detailed and informative (5/5)

    Sohail Faeiz Avatar
    Sohail Faeiz
    11/19/2019
  • I have used Rick's inspection services for several homes. He does a through job and uses all the latest tools to properly assess the home. His inspections take 3-4 hours and are worth the time. He educates the buyers also with patience. He has lots of experience about homes and is a true professional in his field.

    Aizad Ahmad Avatar
    Aizad Ahmad
    12/21/2018

    I highly recommend Rick and his service.

    He was very thorough, professional and personable. Took the time to explain everything clearly in terms we could easily understand; excellent job!

    Sharon Goss Avatar
    Sharon Goss
    5/30/2019

    I had Rick out for a home inspection on a house I am purchasing. I couldn't be happier with how it went! He was extremely thorough yet efficient, and extremely knowledgeable and could put everything into terms that I could understand clearly. His personality was fantastic and I will highly recommend him to anybody I run into. Thanks again Rick!

    Brandon Brubacher Avatar
    Brandon Brubacher
    3/22/2019

Book an Inspection

Speak to any of our Home, Commercial Building and Mould inspectors for a quote or with any questions you have about your home or building.