About Us

Thank you to all of our clients for voting us the Gold Winner for 2020 of the KW Record Readers Choice award.

digital moisture detection

Our Approach

Licensed Home Inspection Inc. is committed to 100% customer satisfaction. We only use certified inspectors that are trained in the Ontario Building Code for our services. With the help of cutting edge technology, like Infrared Thermal Imaging and Digital Moisture Detection, we are able to find moisture defects that are not visible to the naked eye.

Our Story

IICRC Certified for Water and Mould

Licensed Home Inspection Inc. is the only home inspection agency in Ontario that requires all inspectors to be IRCIC Certified for Water and Mould. This is to give our customers peace of mind knowing they will find moisture in their house before it's too late......but more importantly, the source and remedy of the issue.  Hiring an IICRC certified Home Inspector is a great asset when purchasing a home or business.

Meet the Team

Rick Clayton

Rick Clayton RHI, CMI, WRT, AMRT

Founder

Since starting Licensed Home Inspector Inc in 2010 LHI has become one of the leading inspection companies in the region. Rick has preformed over 2500  Home Inspections. On average most inspectors perform 50 to 150 inspections a year, We currently  perform 500 to 700 inspections a year.

 

Carson Dunlop Inspection training, Ontario Building Code Certified 2006, Certified Mould Dog Handler, IICRC Water Restoration and Applied Mould Remediation Certified.

Colin Coughlin

Colin Coughlin CHI, WRT, AMRT

Co-Owner

Since joining Licensed Home Inspection Inc. 2017 Colin has quickly made a name for himself in the industry. Career development education, past construction experience and on the job training has allowed him to excel with cutting edge home inspection technology.

 

Carson Dunlop Inspection training, Ontario Building Code Certified, IICRC Water Restoration and Applied Mould Remediation Certified.

  • Rick was very professional. He was very thorough both inside and outside of the home. We learned a lot about the house we purchased. He did not miss anything, even something minor. He made great recommendations on how to prevent minor issue from becoming major ones. He used visual diagrams to show how major utilities worked. We would definitely recommend Rick.

    Ann Sargent Avatar
    Ann Sargent
    8/03/2019

    Rick was very thorough but got through the house efficiently. He was very knowledgeable and explained everything in detail. I would highly recommend him!

    Andrew De Aragon Avatar
    Andrew De Aragon
    5/02/2019

    Rick was really great, he explained everything he was doing in an easy to understand way and offered common sense, reasonable solutions to the few issues he found. He is very knowledgeable and well worth the money!

    Eric Pfaffinger Avatar
    Eric Pfaffinger
    1/18/2019
  • Based on how competitive the real estate market is, it’s a sellers market. As a first time home buyer you need to put your best offer in with no conditions which can be quite uneasy. I was going against time and many other buyers who was willing to over pay for homes.

    With all this in mind I needed to find a knowledgeable, trustworthy and one on short notice.

    Rick was quite accommodating with our realtor and I, coming sooner then his availability. He was really pleasant and easy to communicate, he explained things in Lehman terms so everyone understands.

    Rick was really accommodating and understood the situation I was in doing an inspection at my own cost without knowing if we would even close the deal for the house.

    I will definitely be using and recommending Rick to my friends, family and possibly use him to assist for work related services.

    Thank you again Rick,

    Julian Nguyen Avatar
    Julian Nguyen
    1/17/2020

    I have had 2 houses inspected by Rick, and both times I was very impressed with the thoroughness of the inspection as well as the well documented report that he sends afterwards. He is accommodating, friendly and knowledgeable. I will be using his service as long as I have a need for it. Thanks Rick!

    Brad Leger Avatar
    Brad Leger
    9/27/2019

    I have used Rick's inspection services for several homes. He does a through job and uses all the latest tools to properly assess the home. His inspections take 3-4 hours and are worth the time. He educates the buyers also with patience. He has lots of experience about homes and is a true professional in his field.

    Aizad Ahmad Avatar
    Aizad Ahmad
    12/21/2018
  • I am glad that Rick Inspected my new buy. As a client, I wasn't not only satisfied but also delighted.

    Professional: I was 5 minutes late but when I reached that spot, I was amazed to see that he was already into work and inspecting roof. He right away took me around the house and shared information about his findings.

    Knowledgeable: Obviously, this was expected but why i had to mention this is that he went in depth to explain what can be used and what need immediate replacement instead of simply saying replace the whole unit. This actually saves a lot of money.

    Suggestive: This wasn't his part of job but he made sure he gave suggestions wherever i was thinking to make changes in the house that too with illustrations. Not only this, he included the same in the detailed report as well.

    I liked his way of working and would highly recommend him for new buys. Thanks again Rick!

    Janpreet Sethi Avatar
    Janpreet Sethi
    1/14/2020

    Rick told me to give 4 stars (as a joke) but that definitely would not be truthful. As first time home buyers we are glad to get Rick as our home inspector. Not only did he deal with my overprotective mother but also he made sure we were aware of every important detail and more. The professional service and his additional expierence in water, mould, and foundations assured us we made the right call. The report is as detailed as the interaction, so we can't forget. We are so thankful to get Rick and we look forward to keeping him as a close contact for friends, family, or our next house.

    Kenneth Ram Avatar
    Kenneth Ram
    5/22/2019

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

    Rick is an AWESOME home inspector!! I don't have enough words to exactly express his work but for us it was like someone introduced to our own home and in a very efficient, informative way. It's our first home in Canada and we were fairly new to house structures here and he explained EVERYTHING. I felt like we now know every nook and cranny of our house. Very detailed, very professional, careful to acknowledge the client's level of knowledge and explain accordingly. So far whoever we spoke to about our home inspection said, "looks like he was through and covered everything". We are very happy we chose Rick for our home inspection, not to mention the mini course he gave for our hot tub, not because it was part of inspection but because he owns one and knew about it. I know I am missing a lot of things I could write here but it's a review, not a novel :). I would have given 100 stars if I could but there's space for only 5!!

    Harshita Patel Kanani Avatar
    Harshita Patel Kanani
    11/19/2019

Book an Inspection

Speak to any of our Home, Commercial Building and Mould inspectors for a quote or with any questions you have about your home or building.