About Us

Thank you to all of our clients for voting us the Gold Winner for 2020 of the KW Record Readers Choice award.

digital moisture detection

Our Approach

Licensed Home Inspection Inc. is committed to 100% customer satisfaction. We only use certified inspectors that are trained in the Ontario Building Code for our services. With the help of cutting edge technology, like Infrared Thermal Imaging and Digital Moisture Detection, we are able to find moisture defects that are not visible to the naked eye.

Our Story

IICRC Certified for Water and Mould

Licensed Home Inspection Inc. is the only home inspection agency in Ontario that requires all inspectors to be IRCIC Certified for Water and Mould. This is to give our customers peace of mind knowing they will find moisture in their house before it's too late......but more importantly, the source and remedy of the issue.  Hiring an IICRC certified Home Inspector is a great asset when purchasing a home or business.

Meet the Team

Rick Clayton

Rick Clayton RHI, CMI, WRT, AMRT

Founder

Since starting Licensed Home Inspector Inc in 2010 LHI has become one of the leading inspection companies in the region. Rick has preformed over 2500  Home Inspections. On average most inspectors perform 50 to 150 inspections a year, We currently  perform 500 to 700 inspections a year.

 

Carson Dunlop Inspection training, Ontario Building Code Certified 2006, Certified Mould Dog Handler, IICRC Water Restoration and Applied Mould Remediation Certified.

Colin Coughlin

Colin Coughlin CHI, WRT, AMRT

Co-Owner

Since joining Licensed Home Inspection Inc. 2017 Colin has quickly made a name for himself in the industry. Career development education, past construction experience and on the job training has allowed him to excel with cutting edge home inspection technology.

 

Carson Dunlop Inspection training, Ontario Building Code Certified, IICRC Water Restoration and Applied Mould Remediation Certified.

  • Rick did our home inspection and he was fantastic! Very thorough and detailed but he also explained everything in a simple way. He gave really helpful feedback and recommendations. I would recommend him to anyone!

    Aleksandra Kulik Avatar
    Aleksandra Kulik
    10/26/2018

    We are beyond happy with Rick! He was so informative and patient with us. We learned a lot in our inspection and feel so relieved with our decision ahead. Would highly recommend Rick!

    Brianna Hillier Avatar
    Brianna Hillier
    2/11/2019

    Absolutely great. Thorough, explained everything, went through everything with a fine toothed comb.

    EDIT: Had a second home inspected by Rick, 3 years after the first. Still incredibly thorough. Climbing in every dirty nook and cranny, checking everything. Rick was also incredibly responsive long after we paid him, answering any questions after the inspection. Easily one of the best business owners I've received a service from period.

    Viktor Y Avatar
    Viktor Y
    9/13/2019
  • Our home inspection with Rick was thorough and educational. We learned many things while inspecting the house inside and out, basement to attic. Well worth the time and money. Would hire Rick/Licensed Home Inspectors again for future homes. Even he gave us his opinion about new another house. Thank you Rick.

    sara choi Avatar
    sara choi
    6/18/2019

    Rick was very professional. He was very thorough both inside and outside of the home. We learned a lot about the house we purchased. He did not miss anything, even something minor. He made great recommendations on how to prevent minor issue from becoming major ones. He used visual diagrams to show how major utilities worked. We would definitely recommend Rick.

    Ann Sargent Avatar
    Ann Sargent
    8/03/2019

    Rick was efficient, professional and thorough. He understood our requirement, the nature of the home and how to communicate the benefits and concerns with us in a constructive way.

    Kartik Ram Avatar
    Kartik Ram
    12/22/2018
  • Based on how competitive the real estate market is, it’s a sellers market. As a first time home buyer you need to put your best offer in with no conditions which can be quite uneasy. I was going against time and many other buyers who was willing to over pay for homes.

    With all this in mind I needed to find a knowledgeable, trustworthy and one on short notice.

    Rick was quite accommodating with our realtor and I, coming sooner then his availability. He was really pleasant and easy to communicate, he explained things in Lehman terms so everyone understands.

    Rick was really accommodating and understood the situation I was in doing an inspection at my own cost without knowing if we would even close the deal for the house.

    I will definitely be using and recommending Rick to my friends, family and possibly use him to assist for work related services.

    Thank you again Rick,

    Julian Nguyen Avatar
    Julian Nguyen
    1/17/2020

    Rick was very thorough but got through the house efficiently. He was very knowledgeable and explained everything in detail. I would highly recommend him!

    Andrew De Aragon Avatar
    Andrew De Aragon
    5/02/2019

    Rick told me to give 4 stars (as a joke) but that definitely would not be truthful. As first time home buyers we are glad to get Rick as our home inspector. Not only did he deal with my overprotective mother but also he made sure we were aware of every important detail and more. The professional service and his additional expierence in water, mould, and foundations assured us we made the right call. The report is as detailed as the interaction, so we can't forget. We are so thankful to get Rick and we look forward to keeping him as a close contact for friends, family, or our next house.

    Kenneth Ram Avatar
    Kenneth Ram
    5/22/2019

Book an Inspection

Speak to any of our Home, Commercial Building and Mould inspectors for a quote or with any questions you have about your home or building.